Microsoft GCC High alternatives for small defense contractors
Published 2026-10-22
Nothing in the rule names Microsoft. What DFARS 252.204-7012 asks is that any cloud provider storing, processing or transmitting covered defense information meet security requirements equivalent to the FedRAMP Moderate baseline 252.204-7012(b)(2)(ii)(D), follow the clause's incident rules, and that CUI be encrypted with FIPS-validated cryptography SC.L2-3.13.11.GCC High is one way to get there. It is not the only one, and for a 10-person shop it is often the most disruptive.
We read six options on their own pages and in the FedRAMP Marketplace on the same day: the GCC High tenant itself, a managed enclave, three products that sit beside the email you already have, and a different office suite. If you are not yet sure which of your people and machines touch CUI, the CMMC scoping worksheet answers that first, and it decides which route fits.
- In force today
- DFARS 252.204-7012 still applies: NIST SP 800-171 Rev 2 on systems that hold covered defense information, cyber incidents reported to DoD within 72 hours, and FedRAMP Moderate or equivalent for any cloud that holds it. DFARS 252.204-7012(b)(2), (c)
- Contracts may require CMMC Level 1 (Self) or Level 2 (Self): your own assessment, scored and entered in SPRS, with a senior official's affirmation. Class Deviation 2026-O0025 Rev 3; 32 CFR 170.15, 170.16
- The CMMC rule itself, 32 CFR Part 170, is unchanged since it took effect on 2024-12-16. eCFR, 32 CFR Part 170
- Suspended
- Phase 2, due in November 2026, is suspended for every contractor, whatever its size: contracts are not adding the third-party Level 2 (C3PAO) or Level 3 (DIBCAC) requirements. DoW CIO memo of 2026-07-13, applied by Class Deviation 2026-O0025 Rev 3
- Existing contracts that carry CMMC requirements have them removed at the next option period or the next scheduled administrative modification. Class Deviation 2026-O0025 Rev 3
- Not yet known
- The outcome of the CMMC Reform Task Force review is not confirmed as of 2026-10-23: no report or rule change has been published. Federal Register search, 2026-10-23
- DoD's 2026 Regulatory Plan lists an interim final rule amending 32 CFR Part 170 (RIN 0790-AM01) to set a deadline and transition from NIST SP 800-171 Rev 2 to Rev 3. It was timetabled for July 2026 and has not been published as of 2026-10-23. 91 FR 52824
- Class Deviation 2026-O0025, Revision 3 (DFARS part 240), read 2026-10-23
- DFARS 252.204-7012, -7019, -7020, -7021 (acquisition.gov), read 2026-10-23
- 32 CFR Part 170 (eCFR), read 2026-10-23
- Federal Register 2026-16603, 2026 Regulatory Plan (RIN 0790-AM01), read 2026-10-23
- Federal Register: CMMC documents, read 2026-10-23
PreVeil
Encrypted email and files that sit beside the Outlook or Gmail you already use, with a responsibility matrix and 7012 incident support stated on its own pages. Ask for the equivalency evidence before you sign.
Read the PreVeil notesKiteworks
FedRAMP Certified at Moderate on its own Marketplace page, and built for moving drawings and files in and out to primes and suppliers.
Read the Kiteworks notesGoogle Workspace
Google Workspace is FedRAMP Certified at High in the Marketplace; with Assured Controls Plus and client-side encryption, Google says it covers US-only storage and the ITAR carve-out.
Read the Google Workspace notes
Four routes off the GCC High quote
Most shops compare products when the real choice is how much of the company moves. Pick the route first; the products inside it are close cousins. The deciding question is how many of your people touch CUI: three drafters and a buyer point one way, a whole engineering floor the other. If the enclave route looks right, the CMMC enclave comparison goes deeper on it.
Move the company into GCC High
- What moves
- Every mailbox, Teams chat and file moves to a new government tenant after Microsoft's eligibility check.
- What stays
- Nothing stays behind, which is the point: no line to police between two systems.
Put only the CUI people in GCC High
- What moves
- The few staff who handle CUI get government accounts, usually built and run by an MSP.
- What stays
- Everyone else keeps commercial Microsoft 365. The MSP that runs the enclave joins your assessment scope.
Run the company on Google Workspace
- What moves
- Mail, Drive and Meet run on Google's FedRAMP High services with Assured Controls Plus for US-only storage.
- What stays
- One system again, but on Google's rules: ITAR data needs client-side encryption configured.
Six options against DFARS 7012
Rows inside the boundary are what DFARS 252.204-7012 and the rules around it ask of a cloud that holds CUI. Rows outside it are about daily life in the shop. Every word was read on the vendor's own pages or in the FedRAMP Marketplace on 2026-10-22; a blank in a vendor's documentation shows as "Not stated".
| What the rule asks | Microsoft 365 GCC High | PreVeil | Kiteworks | Google Workspace | FileCloud | NeoSystems ISG |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inside the boundary | ||||||
| FedRAMP Moderate authorization or equivalent, for the cloud that holds CUIDFARS 252.204-7012(b)(2)(ii)(D) | Certified (High) | Vendor states equivalency | Certified (Moderate) | Certified (High) | Certified host (High) | Inherited from platform |
| FIPS 140-validated encryption in transit and at restSC.L2-3.13.11 | FIPS 140-2 stated | FIPS 140-3 stated | FIPS 140-3 stated | Not stated | FIPS 140-3 stated | Not stated |
| An ITAR path: US-person support, or end-to-end encryption under the carve-out22 CFR 120.54(a)(5) | ITAR terms | Carve-out stated | US citizens stated | Carve-out stated | Self-host on GovCloud | Via GCC High |
| Supports 7012 incident reporting (72 hours, 90-day images)DFARS 252.204-7012(c)–(g) | In DFARS scope list | 7012 (c)–(g) stated | Not stated | 72-hour notice only | 72 h not stated | 72 h support stated |
| Shared or customer responsibility matrix for your SSP32 CFR 170.16(c)(2); 170.19 | Not stated | Stated | Not stated | On request | Not stated | Not stated |
| CUI marking or banner support32 CFR 2002.20 | Labels stated | Not stated | Tagging only | Not stated | Classification only | Not stated |
| Outside the boundary | ||||||
| Works beside the Microsoft 365 or Gmail you already run | New tenant | Stated | Stated | Replaces the suite | Stated | Enclave beside it |
| Desktop sync client | Listed | Stated | Not stated | Not stated | Stated | Not stated |
| Video meetings in the same service | Listed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Sharing with primes and suppliers outside your company | Not stated | Stated | Stated | Not stated | Stated | Not stated |
What the words mean
- MeetsCertified (High)FIPS 140-2 statedITAR termsLabels statedListedFIPS 140-3 statedCarve-out stated7012 (c)–(g) statedStatedCertified (Moderate)US citizens statedOn requestCertified host (High)
- The vendor's own documentation, or the official register, says so. Read on the date shown.
- PartialIn DFARS scope listVendor states equivalencyTagging only72-hour notice onlySelf-host on GovCloud72 h not statedClassification onlyInherited from platformVia GCC High72 h support statedEnclave beside it
- Covers part of the requirement, or the vendor claims it and the official register does not show it.
- Check with vendorNot stated
- Not stated in what we read. Ask the vendor in writing before you rely on it.
- NoNew tenantReplaces the suite
- The vendor's own documentation says it does not.
PreVeil vs GCC High
These are the two names on most small shops' shortlists, and they are not the same kind of thing. GCC High replaces your Microsoft 365. PreVeil leaves it alone and gives the people who handle CUI a second, encrypted place to send and keep it. Read the row on FedRAMP twice: GCC High has its own High listing in the Marketplace, while PreVeil is not listed and rests on its own claim of Moderate equivalency, so the proof you file differs.
| Question | Microsoft 365 GCC High | PreVeil |
|---|---|---|
| What moves | The whole tenant: mail, Teams, SharePoint and OneDrive move to a new government environment. | Only CUI. Users keep their address and open PreVeil from Outlook, Gmail, a browser or the file explorer. |
| Who is licensed | The users in the tenant, through Volume Licensing. | PreVeil says only the users who handle CUI. |
| FedRAMP, in the Marketplace | "Microsoft 365 Government Community Cloud-High" is FedRAMP Certified, Class D (High), since 2024-12-26. | Not listed. PreVeil states it meets the FedRAMP Moderate baseline equivalent; data sits on AWS GovCloud. |
| ITAR | Staff who need access to customer content pass US citizenship verification first. | Relies on the end-to-end encryption carve-out in 22 CFR 120.54, so no US-only admin staff is needed. |
| Incident reporting | In Microsoft's DFARS scope list; Microsoft names its 7012 cloud-provider support for Azure Government and Office 365 U.S. Government Defense. | States support for DFARS 7012 (c)–(g). |
| Paperwork for your SSP | Not part of the subscription in what we read: your staff or an MSP writes it for your tenant. | Sells an SSP, procedures and a shared responsibility matrix as a package. |
The honest split: if most of your staff open CUI every day, two systems become a daily sorting job and GCC High is simpler to live with. If three people do, an overlay keeps the other twenty on the tools they know. For the tenant question on its own, see GCC vs GCC High vs commercial Microsoft 365, and for the email side, CMMC-compliant email compared.
ITAR: screened staff or the encryption carve-out
No product is "ITAR certified"; the regulation has no such status. What matters is whether putting a drawing in the service counts as an export. Since 2020 the ITAR has said that sending or storing technical data is not an export when it is encrypted end to end and meets four conditions. That one paragraph is why an encrypted service can hold ITAR data without US-only administrators.
The test inside that test is the definition of end to end: the data is never unencrypted between the sender and the intended recipient, and the means of decryption are not provided to any third party. A provider that can reset your key or read your files to help you does not meet it, however strong its encryption. So the question to ask a vendor is not "are you ITAR compliant?" but "who can decrypt my files?"
| Path | How it works | On this page |
|---|---|---|
| US persons run it | The provider keeps ITAR data where only screened US staff can reach it. | GCC High, Kiteworks (stated) |
| Nobody else can read it | The data is end-to-end encrypted and the provider never holds the means of decryption. | PreVeil, Google Workspace with Client-side encryption (stated) |
Either path still leaves you the ITAR duties no cloud carries for you, starting with registration if you manufacture defense articles at all. What ITAR asks of a shop, beyond where files live, is in what ITAR compliance means, and the file-sharing products are compared head to head in ITAR-compliant file sharing.
Five things to get in writing
A word in our table is what a vendor's page said. An assessor will want the documents behind it. Ask for these five before you sign, and file them with your SSP. The background on the first one is in FedRAMP Moderate equivalency explained.
- 01
The FedRAMP Marketplace listing, or the equivalency body of evidence
Equivalency means 100 percent of the Moderate baseline, assessed by a FedRAMP-recognized 3PAO, with the evidence handed to you. A marketing page is not it.
7012(b)(2)(ii)(D) - 02
The customer responsibility matrix
It goes into your SSP. It shows which controls the provider covers and which stay yours.
170.16(c)(2) - 03
Incident terms in the contract
You report to DoD within 72 hours of discovery and keep images for 90 days. The provider has to feed you what that takes.
7012(c)–(g) - 04
The FIPS 140 certificate numbers
Encryption that is not FIPS-validated takes 3 points off your score; no encryption takes 5.
SC.L2-3.13.11 - 05
A written answer to who can decrypt your files
It decides whether the ITAR encryption carve-out applies, or whether you need US-person staffing instead.
22 CFR 120.54(b)
What stays yours on every route
No route moves the whole job. The laptops and phones that open CUI are in your assessment scope whichever cloud holds the file, and so is anyone who administers them for you: a provider that holds only your security data, such as configurations and logs, is scoped as a Security Protection Asset. That is why the enclave route brings its MSP into your SSP, and why the MSP you pick matters as much as the platform. The SSP itself, the score and the POA&M stay with you on every route; the CMMC compliance software comparison covers the tools that keep them.
Marking stays yours too. 32 CFR 2002.20 asks holders to apply CUI markings uniformly and conspicuously; a label feature helps, but someone in the shop decides what is CUI and marks it. The rules for banners and portion marks are in CUI marking requirements, and the clause behind all of this is unpacked in DFARS 252.204-7012 explained.
The six, one by one
Microsoft 365 GCC High
What it is. Microsoft's separate government cloud for contractors holding DoD CUI or ITAR data: Exchange, Teams, SharePoint and OneDrive in their own environment, sold through Volume Licensing after an eligibility validation, with no trials. Staff who request access to customer content must first pass US citizenship verification and background checks.
Who it fits. A shop whose primes expect it, whose CUI is spread across most of its people, or that also holds ITAR data it wants under screened US staff rather than under an encryption carve-out.
| What the rule asks | What we found |
|---|---|
| FedRAMP Moderate authorization or equivalent, for the cloud that holds CUI | Certified (High) |
| An ITAR path: US-person support, or end-to-end encryption under the carve-out | ITAR terms |
| Works beside the Microsoft 365 or Gmail you already run | New tenant |
Checked on learn.microsoft.com, 2026-10-22
Check with the vendor before you buy.
PreVeil
What it is. End-to-end encrypted email and a file drive that run beside your existing Microsoft 365 or Gmail: users keep their address and work from Outlook, Gmail, a browser, Windows Explorer or Mac Finder. Data is stored on AWS GovCloud. PreVeil says only the users who handle CUI need a licence, and it sells a documentation package with an SSP and a shared responsibility matrix.
Who it fits. A 5- to 50-person shop where a handful of people touch CUI and everyone else should stay on commercial Microsoft 365 untouched.
| What the rule asks | What we found |
|---|---|
| FedRAMP Moderate authorization or equivalent, for the cloud that holds CUI | Vendor states equivalency |
| An ITAR path: US-person support, or end-to-end encryption under the carve-out | Carve-out stated |
| Shared or customer responsibility matrix for your SSP | Stated |
Checked on preveil.com, 2026-10-22
Check with the vendor before you buy.
Kiteworks
What it is. A platform for secure file sharing, managed file transfer, SFTP and encrypted email under one set of access policies and audit logs. Kiteworks Federal Cloud is FedRAMP Certified at Moderate in the Marketplace; its Secure Gov Cloud is listed there as Agency Authorization In Process at High.
Who it fits. A shop whose CUI moves mostly as files, drawings and models going to and from primes and suppliers, and that wants an authorization it can point at rather than an equivalency claim.
| What the rule asks | What we found |
|---|---|
| FedRAMP Moderate authorization or equivalent, for the cloud that holds CUI | Certified (Moderate) |
| An ITAR path: US-person support, or end-to-end encryption under the carve-out | US citizens stated |
| Supports 7012 incident reporting (72 hours, 90-day images) | Not stated |
Checked on kiteworks.com, 2026-10-22
Check with the vendor before you buy.
Google Workspace
What it is. Google's office suite run on its FedRAMP High authorized services. For CMMC, Google says to use the FedRAMP High services with Assured Controls Plus for US-only data storage, and Client-side encryption for ITAR technical data. Google provides its FedRAMP SSP and customer responsibility matrix on request.
Who it fits. A shop already on Gmail and Drive, or a new company choosing its first suite, that would rather not run two systems side by side.
| What the rule asks | What we found |
|---|---|
| FedRAMP Moderate authorization or equivalent, for the cloud that holds CUI | Certified (High) |
| An ITAR path: US-person support, or end-to-end encryption under the carve-out | Carve-out stated |
| Supports 7012 incident reporting (72 hours, 90-day images) | 72-hour notice only |
Checked on cloud.google.com, 2026-10-22
Check with the vendor before you buy.
FileCloud
What it is. File sharing and sync you can run yourself (on your own servers, in your own AWS or Azure account, or on AWS GovCloud) or use as FileCloud FedRAMP, which the Marketplace names inside the FedHIVE package, FedRAMP Certified at High. FileCloud lists FIPS 140-3 encryption for that service, content classification and expiring share links.
Who it fits. A shop with an IT person or MSP that wants the file server under its own control, or that cannot put drawings in anyone else's cloud.
| What the rule asks | What we found |
|---|---|
| FedRAMP Moderate authorization or equivalent, for the cloud that holds CUI | Certified host (High) |
| An ITAR path: US-person support, or end-to-end encryption under the carve-out | Self-host on GovCloud |
| CUI marking or banner support | Classification only |
Checked on filecloud.com, 2026-10-22
Check with the vendor before you buy.
NeoSystems ISG
What it is. A managed service provider that builds and runs GCC High enclaves for CUI and ITAR workloads, migrates GCC tenants, and hosts contractor workloads in Azure Government. It says it supports your 7012 duty to report cyber incidents within 72 hours, and that the FedRAMP authorization belongs to the cloud platforms it builds on, not to itself.
Who it fits. A shop that wants GCC High for the few people who handle CUI, set up and run by someone else, while the rest of the company stays where it is.
| What the rule asks | What we found |
|---|---|
| FedRAMP Moderate authorization or equivalent, for the cloud that holds CUI | Inherited from platform |
| Supports 7012 incident reporting (72 hours, 90-day images) | 72 h support stated |
| Shared or customer responsibility matrix for your SSP | Not stated |
Checked on neosystemsisg.com, 2026-10-22
Check with the vendor before you buy.
How we read the vendors
Questions small shops ask
Do I need GCC High for CMMC Level 2?
No rule says so. DFARS 252.204-7012 asks that a cloud holding covered defense information meet the FedRAMP Moderate baseline or its equivalent, and that you can meet the incident rules. GCC High is one way to meet that. A prime may still require it in its own flow-down terms, so read your subcontract before you read any vendor page.
Is commercial Microsoft 365 or plain GCC enough?
Microsoft says two things. Its DFARS page calls Office 365 U.S. Government, the name its FedRAMP page gives GCC and GCC High together, FedRAMP Moderate and adequate for DFARS; its GCC High service description says GCC High exists for contractors holding DoD CUI or subject to ITAR. Ask your prime which one its flow-down expects. Commercial Microsoft 365 is not on Microsoft's DFARS list, so keep CUI out of it unless an overlay holds it. The three tenants are compared in GCC vs GCC High.
Is "FedRAMP equivalent" as good as FedRAMP authorized?
The rule accepts either. The difference is proof: an authorized service is in the Marketplace for anyone to check, while an equivalent one must hand you a body of evidence from a FedRAMP-recognized 3PAO showing 100 percent of the Moderate baseline. Ask for that package; if it does not exist, the claim is marketing.
Can I try GCC High before committing?
Not as a trial. Microsoft's service description says organizations go through an eligibility validation before an environment is set up, and that trials are not available. Most of the overlay products on this page offer demos or trials; check with each vendor.
Does this still matter while CMMC Phase 2 is suspended?
Yes. The suspension stops contracts from adding third-party Level 2 and Level 3 requirements. DFARS 252.204-7012, including its FedRAMP Moderate rule for any cloud that holds CUI, still applies today. What still applies while Phase 2 is suspended.